Claire Latosinsky and Futian Yao, oirTrio, Persephone and the Phoenix

Banff Centre Summer Events

Join us for a free concert featuring Banff Centre's Evolution: Classical program participants Claire Latosinsky and Futian Yao, oirTrio, and Persephone and the Phoenix. (Teagan Faran and Nicole Brancato)

(Approx. 105 minutes total. No intermission)
Duration of each group: Approximately 45 minutes 

View House Program



Wednesday, July 6 in the Rolston Recital Hall:

Lighting Design — Hugh Conacher

Artistic Producer — Caroline Hollway

Let the Florid Music Praise! (1937) | Benjamin Britten and text by W.H. Auden — Claire Latosinsky, voice; Futian Yao, piano

London's Burning (2006) | Errollyn Wallen — Claire&Futian 

Take (2006) | Libby Larsen and text by Margaret Atwood — Claire&Futian

Lied der Mignon: Nur wer die Sehnsucht kennt D. 877 no 4 (1826) | Franz Schubert and text by Johann Wolfgang von Goethe — Claire&Futian

Travel's End | Florence Price and text by Mary Folwell Hoisington — Claire&Futian

Invasion from 'Where There's A Wall' (2018) | Ian Cusson and text by Joy Kogawa — Claire&Futian

Memleketim (1994-5) | Fazil Say and text by Nâzim Hikmet — Claire&Futian

Offerings from 'Where There's a Wall' (2018) | Ian Cusson and text by Joy Kogawa — Claire&Futian

Un Canadien Errant (1842) | Text by Antoine Gérin-Lajoie and arranged by John Greer — Claire&Futian



¿Scherzo? (excerpt) | Armando Luna — oírTrìo; Sebastián Espinosa Carrasco, co-director, piano, actor, singer; Alejandra Cortés Vargas, co-director, violin, actor, singer; Diego Cifuentes Becerril, co-director, cellist, actor, singer

Excerpts and improvisations on:

      Cello Sonata, ii) Un poco allegro | Henriëtte Bosmans — oírTrìo

      Pain | oírTrìo — oírTrìo

      PianoTrio, Opus 67 iii) Largo | D. Shostakovich — oírTrìo

      PianoTrio, Opus 100, D 929 ii) Andante con moto | F. Schubert — oírTrìo

La Iguana | Traditional Son Jarocho, arranged by the oírTrìo Ensemble — oírTrìo

Trio Romántico ii) Andante Romántico (excerpt) | Manuel M. Ponce — oírTrìo



Fire in which we Burn (2022) | Persephone & the Phoenix — Persephone & the Phoenix; Nicole Brancato, keys; Teagan Faran, strings






Dedicated in loving memory to Sara Rogers. 

Conceived and realized by Persephone & the Phoenix for its premiere at the Banff Centre for Arts and Creativity. We are grateful to the opportunity to be creative stewards of this land as we take inspiration from Sacred Buffalo Guardian Mountain every day. 

With special thanks to Mari Kimura for her MUGIC device, Leo Sussman for Max guidance, Greg Hammontree for his constant support and salad making, and all of the Banff mentors, fellow entities, kitchen staff, and the increidble technical team. 


For further information please visit: 


@persephone.phoenix @n.brancato @teagbby

@mugicmotion @leomur #pandthep #persephonephoenix


Like what you see? 
Show your support for the Evolution: Quartet and Evolution: Classical programs at Banff Centre by donating generously to the Artists’ Fund.