Evolution: Classical - Transformations

Anders Astrand photo Laki Sideris

Evolution: Classical - Transformations

Renowned faculty members from the Evolution: Classical program bring together music, commentary, and projections in a captivating presentation format that explores transformation.

Commentator Rob Kapilow explains how Harold Arlen’s Somewhere Over the Rainbow transformed Dorothy in her journey from Kansas to Oz, and with that sets the stage for performances by mezzo-soprano Patricia O’Callaghan, percussionist Anders Åstrand, violinist Matt Albert, pianists Pedja Muzijevic, flutist Brandon Patrick George, visual media artist Sigi Torinus, and the Gryphon Trio.

View House Program


(Approx. 70 minutes. No intermission)

Partial Program below:
Anders Åstrand

What Makes It Great – Somewhere Over the Rainbow | Harold Arlen
Patricia O’Callaghan, mezzo-soprano
Rob Kapilow, commentator/piano

X Suite 2020 | Paul Wiancko
Matt Albert, violin; Jamie Parker, piano

Is It Real? 
A Loving Homage to Surrealism (piano, narration, tape)
Featuring music by Erik Satie, Schubert, Kurt Schwitters and George Antheil 
Pedja Muzijevic , piano and narrator

Sonata in A Minor for Solo Flute, Wq. 132 (1747) I. Adagio | C.P.E. Bach 

Tasalsul I (2022) | Saad Haddad
Brandon Patrick George, flute

Dark Butterflies | David Braid
Blue Morpho

Patricia O’Callaghan, mezzo-soprano; Gryphon Trio    


Like what you see? 

Show your support for the Evolution: Quartet and Evolution: Classical programs at Banff Centre by donating generously to the Artists’ Fund.