Banff International Workshop in Jazz & Creative Music

Program dates: August 4, 2015 - August 22, 2015

Application deadline: Extended to March 4, 2015

Program Information

Program Director: Vijay Iyer - Piano, composer,
Faculty: Matt Garrison - Electric bass, composer, Billy Hart - Drums, composer, Tia Fuller - Saxophone, composer, Zakir Hussain - Tabla, composer, Ingrid Jensen - Trumpet, composer, Mat Maneri - Violin, composer, Linda Oh - Bass, composer, Miles Okazaki - Guitar, composer, Harish Raghavan - Bass, composer, Josh Roseman - Trombone, composer, Wadada Leo Smith - Trumpet, composer, - Somi - Voice, composer, Tyshawn Sorey - Drums, composer, Becca Stevens - Vocalist, composer, Yosvany Terry - Saxophone, composer, Mark Turner - Saxophone, composer, Imani Uzuri - Voice, composer,

"In some ways, the Banff International Workshop in Jazz & Creative Music is the opposite of music school. You're rarely, if ever, told what you should practice or should learn; instead, faculty and participants share with you what it is that they find creatively stimulating and artistically nourishing, in the hopes that you might discover something that inspires you and directs you to new vistas of personal expression."
Kevin Sun, alumnus

About the Banff International Workshop in Jazz & Creative Music

Established in 1973, the Banff International Workshop in Jazz & Creative Music is a three-week intensive program where we reimagine the state of the art. Program participants gather from around the world to share, develop and challenge their own ideas and abilities. Our stellar faculty of world-renowned musicians, innovators, leaders and thinkers present master classes, lectures, workshops, informal sessions and collaborative concerts.

We focus on improvisation, composition, listening, ensemble playing, history, theory, critique, creative concepts and our connections to other genres, fields and disciplines. And most importantly, we put it all to the test in musical performance. Participants play together, collaborate, try out new music in club and concert settings and make live and studio recordings.

Participants are encouraged to form groups during the workshop and musical alliances formed at Banff often last many years.

This unique program offers a contrast to the rigid academic environment of many music schools. Participants and faculty live, work and interact in a relaxed, community atmosphere, for a truly transformative experience of study, conversation, creation, experimentation and refinement. To find out more about the Banff Jazz experience, read stories from anterior editions of the program on our Blog | Made in Banff.

Past Faculty

2014: Vijay Iyer, Director, Jeff "Tain" Watts, Marcus Gilmore, Tyshawn Sorey, Matt Brewer, Rich Brown, Reggie Workman, Nir Felder, Steve Coleman, Steve Lehman, Matana Roberts, Ambrose Akinmusire, Nicholas Payton, Warren Wolf, Imani Uzuri, Jen Shyu, Pasmashri Aruna Sairam, Val Jeanty

2013: Vijay Iyer, Director, Ambrose Akinmusire, Theo Bleckmann, Ravi Coltrane, Stephan Crump, Graham Haynes, Nicole Mitchell, Hafez Modirzadeh, Ben Monder, Linda Oh, Miles Okazaki, Greg Osby, Dafnis Prieto, Marvin Sewell, Tyshawn Sorey, Esperanza Spalding, Wadada Leo Smith, E.J. Strickland, Rajna Swaminathan

2012: Dave Douglas, Director, Vijay Iyer, Steve Lehman, Tyshawn Sorey, Rich Brown, Miles Okazaki, Jonathan Finlayson, Matt Brewer, Clarence Penn, Chet Doxas, Liberty Ellman, Luis Perdomo, Uri Caine, Gregory Tardy, Josh Roseman, Aoife O'Donovan, Linda Oh, Okkyung Lee

2011: Dave Douglas, Director, Donny McCaslin, Anthony Wilson, Geoffrey Keezer, Matt Brewer, Clarence Penn, Robin Eubanks, Steve Lehman, Myra Melford, Brandon Ross, Kneebody, Jerry Granelli, Anthony Cox, Eyvind Kang

2010: Dave Douglas, Director, Clarence Penn, Matt Brewer, Donny McCaslin, Jeff Parker, Roberto Rodriguez, Myra Melford , Ben Monder, Darcy James Argue, Michael Bates, Gerald Cleaver, Matana Roberts, Ravi Coltrane, Drew Gress, Luis Perdomo, E.J. Strickland, Mary Halvorson, Giorgio Magnanensi, Hank Roberts

2009: Dave Douglas, Director, Adam Benjamin, Don Byron, Edmar Castaneda, Dave Douglas, Marshall Gilkes, David Gilmore, Jerry Granelli, Tony Malaby, Nicole Margaret Mitchell, Matt Penman, Clarence Penn, Dafnis Prieto, Joshua Redman, Hank Roberts, Ron Samworth, Angelica Sanchez, Ben Street

2008: Dave Douglas, Director, The Bad Plus, Yosvany Terry and Afro-Cuban Roots, Ambrose Akinmusire, Dave Douglas, Laurie Frink, Ingrid Jensen, Wayne Krantz, Donny McCaslin, Rudresh Mahanthappa, Hugh Marsh, Andy Milne, Thomas Morgan, Clarence Penn, Eric Revis, Yosvany Terry, Dan Weiss, Miguel Zenón

2007: Dave Douglas, Director, Vicente Archer, Ab Baars, Adam Benjamin, Han Bennink, Steve Cardenas, Scott Colley, Sylvie Courvoisier, Tobias Delius, Dave Douglas, Mark Feldman, Ernst Glerum, Jerry Granelli, Thomas Heberer, Tristan Honsinger, Oliver Lake, Giorgio Magnanensi, Misha Mengelberg, Michael Moore, Mary Oliver, Clarence Penn, Wolter Wierbos, Miguel Zenón

2006: Dave Douglas, Director, Rez Abbasi, Adam Benjamin, Gerald Cleaver, Scott Colley, Marilyn Crispell, Dave Douglas, James Genus, Deron Johnson, Brad Jones, Gene Lake, Donny McCaslin, DJ Olive, Greg Osby, Clarence Penn, Marcus Strickland

2005: Dave Douglas, Director, Han Bennink, Don Byron, Andrew Downing, Mark Dresser, Ernst Glerum, Susie Ibarra, Vijay Iyer, Misha Mengelberg, Greg Osby, Jeffrey Parker, Roberto Rodriguez, Dylan van der Schyff, Mike Zilber


This program is generously funded by
TD Bank Group as the Lead Supporter.




Above photo:

All programs, faculty, dates, fees, and offers of financial assistance are subject to change. Program fee subject to applicable taxes. Non-refundable fees and deposits will be retained upon cancellation. Any other fees are refunded at the discretion of The Banff Centre.