Banff Centre names recipients for 2018 Barbara Spohr Memorial Award

Share on Facebook Share on Twitter

Lorna Bauer, Cobblestone Gardens #4 (After Arthur Erickson), 101.6cm x 127 cm, Inkjet print, 2016. Courtesy the artist. 

Walter Phillips Gallery at Banff Centre for Arts and Creativity is pleased to announce Lorna Bauer and Laurie Kang as the recipients of the 2018 Barbara Spohr Memorial Award. Created by the friends and family of the late artist Barbara Spohr, the biennial award provides Canadian artists working in photography with a prize of $6000 CAD in value towards a residency in Visual + Digital Arts at Banff Centre.

Lorna Bauer’s creative practice centres on photography, sculpture and video. A former Artist in Residence in 2016, her work is anchored in a strong interest in architecture, urbanism and the relationship between personal history and place. 

“I am deeply honoured to be a recipient of this year’s Barbara Spohr Memorial Award,” saysBauer. “Reading about Barbara Spohr, her interests,and her work strikes a chord with me. I share her love for the medium of photography and greatly appreciate the initiative of her family and loved ones in setting up the award in her name. I am very much looking forward to returning to the Banff Centre and I am grateful to Barbara Spohr’s family, friends and the Banff Centre for this opportunity.”

Laurie Kang’s work explores photography, collage, sculpture, and installation. A former Banff Centre Artist in Residence (BAiR) in 2017, Kang’s work has been exhibited internationally. Currently, Kang is an MFA candidate at Bard College.

“I'm thrilled to be a recipient of this award amongst a great group of artists, and am excited to be a part of a conversation regarding photography's expansive nature. I look forward to returning to the Banff Centre to continue experimenting and pushing my practice further,” says Kang. 

Recent winners of the Barbara Spohr Memorial Award include: Elise Rasmussen (2016), Colin Miner (2013), Celia Perrin Sidarous (2011), Maegan Hill-Carroll (2009), Ramona Ramlochland(2007), Justin Waddell (2005), Dianne Bos (2005) and David McMillan (2004), among others.

Open to artists who have attended Visual + Digital arts residency programs in the previous two years. The award is intended to encourage the development of Canadian contemporary photography by providing financial and creative assistance to an artist whose work has the potential to make a significant contribution to the field.

Learn more about Visual + Digital Arts residencies and events at Banff Centre for Arts and Creativity, visit 

Walter Phillips Gallery (107 Tunnel Mountain Drive Banff, AB, Canada)
@walterphillipsgallery |